To outsource translation online Google Translator Toolkit can be used. It is a web-based tool that you can use to interpret documents online. It can be used for costless at http://interpret.google.com/toolkit. When using the toolkit, all content to-be-rendered is uploaded to Google’s servers. This has raised discussions about privacy of the uploaded data. People desire to know whether Google uses the uploaded data. Some still are touched if they print the upload content.
Well you can get all information about the privacy of your data at the Google Translator Toolkit terms page. The terms governing the use of the service (Google Translator Toolkit Additional Terms) are at http://render.google.com/toolkit/TOS.html.
The most significant part of the terms, says: “If you delete your content, Google will delete the content from its servers and will not use it for any additional improvements to the Services after the date of such deletion from its servers.” This means that if you delete your content from Google’s service, Google will indeed delete the content from its servers and stop using the content in any way.
So, once you delete the content, there will be no risk because all your content has been deleted from Google’s servers, and so, no one except you can use your content. But, what about when translation is in progress and you have not yet deleted the data from the Google server? Well, your content is safe then too, but the exact details depend on the content type.
You have some options at your disposal.
Documents and Glossaries – Only you and people with whom you have shared the content can glimpsed your documents and glossaries. Therefore, there is no problem here.
Outsource Translation Memories – You have different options to share memories of your outsource translation online.
If you choose the most restrictive option, only you can use your content. Basically, the situation is with this option is exactly same as with documents and glossaries. Only you and the ones with whom you have explicitly shared the content can use your translation memory.
In the most permissive option, on the other hand, you can allow all other users to use your translation memory, one-translation unit at a time. Even in the most permissive option, no one can download your translation memory for his/her own use, but can only search for translations one at a time. If you are unsure which option is best for you, choose the most restrictive one, and you will have no risk.
While voting for the best translation candidates, your single votes will not be visible to anyone. Instead, the number of all votes and an aggregate value will be shown to everyone. From your shown of view, this is a good and safe way.
In all cases, you should keep this in mind – if you want, Google will delete all your content from its servers and cease to use it immediately. At the same time, entirely features that you have allowed earlier will cease immediately. When you have cancel your content from Google’s servers, no one except you can use your content.
Online translation outsourcing can arouse some questions but if you take a closer look at the user terms of, for example, Google Translator Toolkit, you’ll find out that the user is able to secury his or her privacy very well.